This performance has already taken place...

On the Shoulders of Giants

Friday 12th February 2016 7.30pm @ The Venue, Leeds

Adagio and Fugue for strings
Violin Concerto in D ‘Adélaïde’
Cello Concerto No 1
Symphony No 47 'Palindrome'
Symphony No 1 'Classical'

Raphael Wallfisch cello
Alexandra Keeley violin

Skipton Building Society Camerata
Ben Crick conductor

Internationally acclaimed cellist Raphael Wallfisch and rising star Alexandra Keeley are the soloists in this concert of music from 18th Century Austria and 20th Century Russia.

6.15pm A Necessary Evil?
Pre-concert talk by Dr Stephen Muir (University of Leeds) in conversation with Raphael Wallfisch on Shostakovich and the Soviet regime.

 or go to Sat 13 February in Town Hall Skipton

‘Originality is nothing but judicious imitation’ Voltaire

Influences that result in the creation of a masterpiece can be many and varied. In his Adagio and Fugue Mozart clearly drew on the great fugues of JS Bach whereas Prokofiev openly acknowledged the genius of Haydn when the Russian wrote his ‘Classical’ Symphony. The ‘Adélaïde’ Concerto was not discovered until 1933 and was long thought to be by Mozart but recent studies have suggested that it was actually by Marius Casadesus, the work’s 1933 ‘editor’ who was ‘inspired’ by the great man. Shostakovich wrote his First Cello Concerto soon after the death of Stalin, a man who had been a far from benign influence for the entirety of the composer’s life. 

Raphael Wallfisch

Raphael Wallfisch

Tickets are available online, by phone, in person and on the door.

Phone: 0113 222 3434 Mon-Fri 10am to 5pm (8pm on concert days)

In Person: Leeds College of Music Box Office, 3 Quarry Hill, Leeds LS2 7PD

Any remaining tickets will be available at the venue on the day of the concert 45 minutes before the concert starts (subject to availability).