Captured Memories

Music by Bach, Mozart & Tchaikovsky

  • Fri, 04 May 2018, 7:30 pm

United Reformed Church, Saltaire

Mozart Divertimento in D, K.136
Bach Ich Habe Genug, BWV 82
Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence

Hannah Mason mezzo soprano

Skipton Building Society Camerata
Ben Crick conductor

Skipton Building Society Camerata and Saltaire Art Trail come together to present a concert inspired by the humble postcard and the ways in which travel and new experiences manifest themselves in works of art.

Mozart’s Divertimento in D was composed soon after one of 16 year-old Mozart’s many European tours. It shows all the traits of the fashionable and contemporaneous Italian style that Mozart experienced on his travels.

Bach’s Ich Habe Genug is a work of exquisite beauty and depth which brings together the German sacred music tradition, in which Bach was so well versed, with the secular operatic traditions of the day.

Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence is a musical postcard which Tchaikovsky composed whilst on holiday in the Italian city in the summer of 1890.

Follow us: