On the Shoulders of Giants

Mozart, Haydn, Prokofiev & Shostakovich

  • Fri, 12 Feb 2016, 7:30 pm

The Venue, Leeds

Mozart Adagio and Fugue for strings
Mozart/Casadesus Violin Concerto in D ‘Adélaïde’
Shostakovich Cello Concerto No 1
Haydn Symphony No 47 'Palindrome'
Prokofiev Symphony No 1 'Classical'

Raphael Wallfisch cello
Alexandra Keeley violin
Skipton Building Society Camerata
Ben Crick conductor

‘Originality is nothing but judicious imitation’ 

- Voltaire

Internationally acclaimed cellist Raphael Wallfisch and rising star Alexandra Keeley are the soloists in this concert of music from 18th Century Austria and 20th Century Russia.

Influences that result in the creation of a masterpiece can be many and varied. In his Adagio and Fugue Mozart clearly drew on the great fugues of JS Bach whereas Prokofiev openly acknowledged the genius of Haydn when the Russian wrote his ‘Classical’ Symphony.

The ‘Adélaïde’ Concerto was not discovered until 1933 and was long thought to be by Mozart but recent studies have suggested that it was actually by Marius Casadesus, the work’s 1933 ‘editor’ who was ‘inspired’ by the great man. 

Shostakovich wrote his First Cello Concerto soon after the death of Stalin, a man who had been a far from benign influence for the entirety of the composer’s life.


6.15pm A Necessary Evil?

Pre-concert talk by Dr Stephen Muir (University of Leeds) in conversation with Raphael Wallfisch on Shostakovich and the Soviet regime.

Follow us: