Donohoe plays Ravel

plus music by Mendelssohn, Fauré & Butterworth

  • Fri, 05 Jun 2015, 7:30 pm

King's Hall, Ilkley

Mendelssohn Overture: A Midsummer Night's Dream
Fauré Ballade for piano and orchestra
Butterworth The Banks of Green Willow
Ravel Piano Concerto in G
Mendelssohn Symphony No 4 in A 'Italian'

Peter Donohoe piano

Skipton Building Society Camerata
Ben Crick conductor

Peter Donohoe is a highly sought-after pianist who has built an extraordinary world-wide career. Following his success as Silver Medal winner of the 1982 7th International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, Donohoe has gone on to appear with many of the world’s greatest orchestras and conductors, and make award-winning recordings. 

Under the baton of Ben Crick, Donohoe and Skipton Camerata perform Ravel’s jazz-inspired Piano Concerto in G along with the less well known Ballade by Fauré.

The concert is framed by two of Mendelssohn’s finest works.  The Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream masterfully evokes the different worlds inhabited by the characters in Shakespeare’s play, whilst the ever popular ‘Italian’ Symphony is testament to Mendelssohn’s fondness for travel. George Butterworth’s miniature masterpiece The Banks of Green Willow completes the programme.

Follow us: